Sunday, August 19, 2012

On My Disdain for Liberal Fluff

     I hate the GOP. Just getting that out there. I also hate Fox News. I hate when the media lies, distorts, misrepresents, or takes out of context. And its not just Fox, although they are the most blatant, and least apologetic offender. But both sides do it. Here is an article by Mollie Riley of the Huffington Post: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/08/19/kevin-yoder_n_1808537.html. Now that you've read it, I'm sure you are as embarrassed as I am, but let me start from the beginning...
     Huff Post is unabashedly liberal, and I like it that way. I check it every day because it aggregates a whole lot of content and a good deal of it has substance, most notably the op-eds. However, is also contains some of the fluffiest fluff on the net, and occasionally it makes it onto the front page. At the time of this posting, the article I've linked to is THE FUCKING FRONT PAGE ARTICLE. Its not that its merely unsubstantial, given the gravity of some of the events of today, but also that the article represents everything I hate about the liberal media. There, I said it, right from the mouth of Bill O. I hate the liberal media. Wait what!? Yes, I'm a liberal. But don't see being a liberal as some form of opinion. Its more of an apparent truth (dare I say "truthiness"). I believe that reality validates my standpoint. And this being the case, I also believe that if a news source were to cover the news in a non biased way, it would seem to have an inherent "liberal bias," which is in fact, just thetrue nature of things. And that is why I hate these stupid GOP bashing articles. Its a non issue for christ's sake! The man went skinny dipping in a river! sounds to me like a hell of a fucking time, especially when its the river Jesus supposedly walked on. I'd do that in a heartbeat and tell everyone and their grandmother about it. However, Huff Post used the story as a pointless attack, and the only thing this does is give Fox and the GOP an argument they can win.
     If you watch Fox, you'll notice a hell of a lot liberal media bashing, and some of it for good reason. They deserve to be vilified for this type of journalism just as much as Fox does, if not more, because in my opinion, they could right true, substance filled articles to prove their point instead of this shit, whereas Fox must spin to survive. Every time the liberal media, and I really do admire their conviction, makes this big of a deal about a story this idiotic, they are throwing gasoline directly in the conservative media engine. If you watch Fox and see O'reilly say, "Here goes the liberal media pointlessly attacking a Republican." You are gonna think that this is the sort of stuff they need to resort to. Because they are resorting to it! And this is the problem, because they needn't. Please Huff Post and other liberal media outlets, refrain from publishing this type of  bullshit. When politics are concerned, people are going to side with those who win the most arguments, not the most important. If you constantly hear about the Huff Post bashing Republicans for stupid shit, you're not gonna give as much thought to the thoughtful articles, because it makes the whole site look bad, and it undoes everything good that it has going for it. Lets keep the BS out of the discourse, and lets win every argument, even if that means waiting for them to come at us.

No comments:

Post a Comment